“I Left My Phone in Old Lisboa”

(Sung to the tune of “I Left My Heart in San Francisco“) 

The loveliness of Porto seems somehow sadly gay

The glory of Tomar is of another day

I’d been terribly content with my fella in Penela

Why did I go to that city by the Bay?

I left my phone in old Lisboa

High on a hill, it calls to me

It lies where little cable cars climb halfway to the stars

Where the police pulled me aside, and I cried

My cell waits there in old Lisboa

Dropped on the ground when I was free

When I return to you, old Lisboa

My husband, Keith, will drive for me

P.S. Do you think Tony Bennett would be interested in this?

P.P.S. When I searched online for the full lyrics, there was an offer to send the ringtone to my cell. Just another of life’s many ironies…

Lisbon Tram

About Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.
This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “I Left My Phone in Old Lisboa”

  1. Ninette Bravo says:

    Sad to hear you lost your phone but good job with the song lyrics. 🙂

  2. My consolation prize!

  3. The winding, cobblestone streets–many one way–people stepping off the curb randomly, (as if they were in New York, as opposed to the rest of Portugal, where they are well-behaved), pedestrian walkways that actually look like you can drive on them…a nightmare! It was worse than losing my phone.
    But the police (all three of them) were quite polite.

  4. restlessjo says:

    I sang along! 🙂

Leave a Reply

