You’ve Got a Book in You

Have you ever thought: “I should write a book”? (I know some of you have, especially my Bunny sisters, because you told me so when I published Rabbit Trail.) But you didn’t have a clue how to go about it, right? I’ve just solved your problem.

Actually, Elizabeth Sims has. “You’ve Got a Book in You”, available in both paperback and Kindle editions on Amazon, has everything you need to know about the process. Written in a conversational style, it’s packed with wisdom, technique tips, and a good dose of humor. A Writer’s Digest subscriber, I’d known Ms. Sims as a contributing editor, famous for her Rita Farmer mysteries and Lillian Byrd crime novels. I expected something special from her presentation, “How to Write a Dynamite Mystery or Thriller That Sells”, at the recent Florida Writers Association conference in Orlando.

Elizabeth Sims on Mystery Writing

But I–and all the attendees–got so much more, including a bracelet for encouragement with the words, “You’ve Got a Book in You” on it, personally slipped on my wrist by her.

Elizabeth Sims Presenting Bracelet

I’m anxious to get back to her book (and writing), so I’ll close with this:

As Sims says in her dedication, “You’ve Got a Book in You” is for anyone who’s ever looked at a shelf full of books and wondered if they could do it. You’re about to find out you can. Get the book, start writing.

And let me know how it goes.

About Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.
This entry was posted in The Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You’ve Got a Book in You

  1. She WAS great and encouraging, wasn’t she? I had not read her books prior to the conference, but have now read my first Rita Farmer story and loved it. Her writing is as entertaining and interesting as her presentation. Now I must go finish one of the several books that are in me!

  2. I’m telling you, I love her book on writing. Last night I arranged my new garret. 🙂

  3. sallyann says:

    I’m going to have to check this out. Who knows? Maybe I have a book in me too!

  4. You do, and I’m telling you, this is the best I’ve ever seen.

  5. Wow, Tricia, thank you for sharing your enthusiasm for my ideas with your friends/followers! It’s so important to get the word out, and I REALLY appreciate your doing so. Best wishes to you, your writing, and your friends.

    • I was stuck in a nightmare of a revision with nowhere to go, and you gave me all the hope I needed to get back on track. For that reason alone I would have written my post, but the simple fact is that anyone who wants to write a book SHOULD read yours. Best back to you.

  6. weldontravis says:

    Trish ~ Wonderfully motivating! I’ve forwarded it on to a friend for whom I am editing her book about a very troublesome, drug-addicted, violence-infused life. Bless you and Keith . . . Weldon

    On Fri, 8 Nov 2013 12:57:24 +0000 Notes from a Movable Marriage

  7. Ninette Bravo says:

    Love you, Tricia!!! Thanks 🙂

  8. When you find something great, you have to share. Hugs to you and that handsome photographer. And Zeus, of course!

Leave a Reply

