One Man’s Junk …

…is another man’s (or woman’s) treasure. I think that’s how the adage goes. We found that out a week ago Saturday when we had a garage sale. I’d gone wild posting notices from Woodland to Kamas to Midway to Heber to Park City. “If you only attend one yard sale on Saturday, September 10th, THIS IS THE ONE!” it trumpeted, followed by a listing of some of the most enticing items: a riding lawnmower, extension ladder, power tools (we are in the country), followed by sporty numbers like skis, boots, and bikes. I even put an ad in the classifiedsAt seven a.m. on the appointed day we were still scrambling—well, I was, since my husband is still recuperating from foot surgery—to arrange and price the exhaustive array of goodies.

We did well. The corral fencing realignment cost was covered, we were able to buy some modest gift cards to our local favorite eatery, The Cutting Board, for friends who volunteered to help, eat there ourselves as an after-sale treat, and put the rest in the bank.

But we still had a lot of STUFF left over. The answer? It was given to us by one of our shoppers. “Why don’t you have another sale on the weekend of the alpaca farm open house? Actually they call it an “open barn”. We went last year and it was great: you can get up close and personal to these adorable camel/llama-looking animals, and buy an assortment of products from their valuable fur such as hats and gloves. There are also jellies and soaps and all sorts of other local items for sale.

So this weekend will find Keith once again holding court in the driveway, making wonderful deals with those who venture up the hill to visit.

One last note: my daughter-in-law, Shelly, said it must have been hard to part with so many personal things. I replied that it hadn’t been, because we kept belongings with sentimental value. But it got me to thinking. We do have a lot of memorabilia that is important to us. I’ve heard suggestions such as taking photos of special things that you’d like to remember down the line, but don’t need to have sitting in a drawer or on a shelf for the next twenty years.

Here are my questions to you: What are your yard sale experiences, and what do you do with all those things you can’t let out of your heart, but would like to let out of your hands?

(Blue Moon Ranch Alpacas, 3535 S. 1000 E. Woodland UT, http://www.bluemoonranch.net; The Cutting Board, 54 N. Main Street, Kamas, UT http://www.thecuttingboardkamas.com)

About Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.
This entry was posted in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Man’s Junk …

  1. Maureen says:

    I love that you had a happy garage sale experience & have another opportunity this weekend. Having just gone through my garage several weeks ago, I’m glad I purged-even those items that tugged at my heart. I felt that I was opening my heart to future treasures, plus I had less to move across country.

  2. Linda says:

    I love the idea of taking a picture of a cherished item and then letting it go. I had a collection of childhood dolls (circa 1950) and we let them go so others could enjoy them, instead of them just sitting in a box on a shelf. My first garage sale was a fiasco. I didn’t know the rules and so the things we did not want to sell were not covered. I got more interest in those items than the items I wanted to sell. I learned the unspoken rules fast.

Leave a Reply

