I Remember Daddy

I was doing a little spring cleaning last week and came across an old tackle box that belonged to my father, who passed away a few days after Christmas in 1987. His fishing items have moved about from Los Angeles to Utah to Florida (four places) to Nevada to New Hampshire and back to Utah, and still I can see no reason to put it in the yard sale we are planning.

I don’t have many things left of my father’s: a cozy navy blue jacket with his name embroidered on it; a few jewelry pieces; a belt buckle with his nickname “Cy” engraved on it, a splurge gift I bought for him at Tiffany & Company many years ago. Of course I have photos. It’s kind of hard to think of our dads as little boys, but pictures don’t lie.

Like a lot of kids, my relationship with my father was a mixture of love, respect, fear, disdain (when I became a teenager, I discovered he knew absolutely nothing about life). But when I gave birth to my first daughter we grew closer, bridging a gap that had existed between us, and I came to love and admire him in a way I hadn’t known was possible.

Years after he and my mother divorced, he married a wonderful woman named Chris. Together they shared the close of their respective lives, spending most of that time being grateful for what they had, laughing all the way.

Tomorrow as we remember our dads, I’ll be thinking of Daddy, and expressing my thanks for him and everything else I’ve received in this life from my Heavenly Father.

A happy Father’s Day to every one of you!

About Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.
This entry was posted in Family Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Remember Daddy

  1. Lynner says:

    What a lovely tribute! Happy Father’s Day to Keith, too.

  2. Anthony Molinari says:

    Great tribute Tricia, He was one of a kind …i remember him well Steppy ,,,mom and Dad were always laughing and joking -after work in Manhattan i would meet Chris jr in park slope for dinner at the Williams house …i would get their first about 530pm and step would still be working on air w/ his radios w/ city traffic …i would walk in sit next to him and not say a word while he was typing his report for the day most times he would know somebody had walked in on him ….but he couldnt talk untill he signed off …we would chat about all the emergencies that happened in the big apple that day , while mom was busy cooking in the kitchen ,,, he would say to me privately is she cooking Italian food again ? and then yell out to Chris —–is that garlic i smell again dear ?and she would always lie and say no …he told me my eyes arent that great but my sence of smell was perfect ….he was always a meat and potato kind of guy ….Happy fathers day step, i know he and mom are together laughing and dancing as always … Anthony …xxoo

  3. Pingback: Tranquility…A Dad, a Daughter and the Ocean… « Dsgnmom's Blog

Leave a Reply

