Back Home Again

With ski season sadly drawing to a close (though we’re getting fresh powder every day), part of me feels I’m just going to hold my mental and physical breath until it reopens next fall. Why else live here? I needed a reality check, so I went back into my archives to find the letter I wrote to the Editor of the Summit County News last summer.

“Dear Editor,

Years ago, a Salt Lake City-born dinner date spent the evening extolling the virtues of Utah.  Soon after, I checked it out. I got hooked (literally) on Fish Lake, basked in the fiery glow of Arches National Park, and learned to ski on what truly is the “greatest snow on earth.” Over the years, I came to have a vacation home, or timeshare, or permanent residence in Park City. When I married, my husband shared my love of the area. When circumstances removed us, my heart remained.      

Last February we returned to celebrate his birthday. We skied and dined with old friends, and announced our plans to drive in the morning to Colorado, to explore, and possibly relocate there. “Why?” they said. “You have everything you need here!” We slept on it, praying for a sign. The following morning a huge snowstorm was brewing on our travel route, making the journey unwise. We began to look once again for a home in the Wasatch Mountains.

Eventually we found a place in Woodland. When I lived here before, I’d never even heard of Woodland, and despite a super antique store and a couple of places to eat in Kamas, it just wasn’t Park City.

It took about one day to discover that pretty much anything I need is right here. How can you go wrong with a town that has a drugstore with not only that classic soda fountain aroma, but the best burgers in the state; roads with horses, cattle, alpacas, deer, and elk; vistas everywhere that belong on a postcard?  And, as a group, the warmest people I’ve ever met in a single location. Last week I ordered, online (see? I can get everything here), John Denver’s classic CD Back Home Again. I am home again.  For the first time.”

All of the above is true. The hardware store is the real old-fashioned kind, and the drug store is a general store, too, with truly spectacular burgers. And how adorable is the beauty salon in a charming house?

So I will appreciate my town for all it offers, along with the change of seasons. The white winter hares are gone, the birds are squawking when I’m late to the feeder, and a few stubborn weeds are pushing up amidst the snow drifts.

There’s no place like home.

About Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.
This entry was posted in Seasonal Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back Home Again

  1. Lynner says:

    I love it! Especially knowing how you have moved around recently, it warms my heart to know that you feel so at home and are so content in Woodland. In fact, the pictures look like the small town in which I grew up in IL, just south of the Wisconsin border. Nothing like it!

    May God bless your years there – each and every season.

Leave a Reply

