Got Competition?

 

Recently the Sundance Film Festival was held again in Park City, Utah. Although I declined tickets I was offered on the basis of my filtering system (see previous post, Hear No Evil) I confess I got caught up in the excitement. Locals know that the “PiBs,” the People in Black, bring revenue to town along with their creative juices. For me, the inspiration is the thought of so many people struggling to make their dreams come true. While competing with one another for prizes and recognition, to a large degree what is critical is they wanted to make something happen, and they did. Years ago during Sundance, when my friends Michel and Jeff owned a coffee store, I thought I might get hired as a national rep for a particular product.

Didn’t happen. I think they knew I drink my coffee black.

The Festival ended and shortly afterward the World Championships of Freestyle Skiing arrived, with events held at both Park City Mountain Resort and Deer Valley. I joined the spectators, positioning myself at different places on the slope, to take action photos.

It was a lot easier than doing it on the sidelines of the Super Bowl.

The thought occurred to me again that contests can drive us to excel, to accomplish goals. And it made me think about writing. 

I’ve been challenged by the Florida Writers Association’s Royal Palm Literary Awards,  NaNoWriMo (which was the subject of my first post on this blog), and Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel Award. Writers Digest (WritersDigest.com) has a standard call to submit an essay (600 words or less) on the writing life, their “5-Minute Memoir.” This blog is  299 words. See how easy it is? So go get a cup of coffee (with or without milk) or whatever your beverage of preference, and get started.

About Tricia Pimental

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tricia Pimental's second memoir, A Movable Marriage, has received 5 Star reviews from both Epic Book Quest and Readers' Favorite. It's available on Amazon in both Kindle (amzn.to/1RtRBwp) and print (amzn.to/1OiGlUU) versions. She is also the author of two Royal Palm Literary Award Competition-honored books: Rabbit Trail: How a Former Playboy Bunny Found Her Way, and Slippery Slopes. Other work has appeared in International Living Magazine; A Janela, the quarterly magazine of International Women in Portugal; and anthologies compiled by the Florida Writers Association and the National League of American Pen Women. A member of the Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists and a former Toastmaster, Ms. Pimental resides in Portugal. She can be reached at www.triciapimental.com and on Twitter @Tricialafille.
This entry was posted in The Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

